Boards & Committees

Medical Advisory Board

Board Chair: Mark J. Lema  ’71 MD, PhD
Chair, Anesthesiology, Roswell Park Cancer Institute/University at Buffalo

Vice Chair: James L. Budny '70 MD
Neurosurgeon, Gates Vascular Institute/UB Neurosurgery

Secretary: Dianna Civello - Ex-Officio
Interm Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Allyson D. Backstrom, PhD - Ex-Officio
Director, The Dr. George E. Schreiner ’43 Pre-Med Center

Philip J. Aliotta ’76, MD, MSHA
WNYUA-Main Urology Associates Division
Christine C. Ignaszak-Nadolny
Executive Director
Medical Society of Erie County
Paul M. Anain ’88, MD, FACS
Vascular & Endovascular Center of WNY
David P. Kowalski '88, MD
Kowalski Family Practice
E. Kelly Bartels ’76, MD
Bartels, Powalski and Weissman
Peter F. Kowalski ’82, MD
UB Family Medicine
Christopher J. Bartolone ’85, MD
Gastroenterology Associates
Lisa C. Kozlowski, ’84 MD
Buffalo Cardiology & Pulmonary Associates
Eugene L. Beltrami '47, MS '49, MD(Retired) United States Department of Veteran Affairs
Joseph P. Leberer ’77, MD
Buffalo Medical Group PC, Dept. of Colon & Rectal Surgery
Owen G. Bossman MBA ’98, MD
Kathleen A. Lillis ’82, MD
Pediatric and Adolescent Urgent Care of WNY
Salvatore M. Calandra ’80, MD
Cardiology Group of WNY
Raquel G. Martin, DO, FACEP
Kenmore Mercy Hospital
Gregory J. Castiglia, MD
Buffalo Neurosurgery Group
Paul C. Nasca ’78, DPM
Office of Paul C. Nasca DPM
John C. Corbelli ’75, MD
Buffalo Cardiology & Pulmonary Associates PC
Margaret W. Paroski, MD, MMM
Neurology, State University of New York at Buffalo School of Medicine
David J. Durante '76, MD
Office of David J. Durante, MD
Richard M. Peer ’65, MD
Immediate Past President, Medical Society of the State of New York
Buffalo Medical Group PC, Dept. of Vascular Surgery
Michael J. Edbauer MBA '12, DOCatholic Medical Partners Thomas A. Raab ’73, MD
Mercy Hospital of Buffalo
David Ewing, PhD
Canisius College
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Mary Elizabeth Roehmholdt ’71, MD
Medical Offices of Mary Elizabeth Roehmholdt, MD
Megan O’Shea Farrell, MD
Center for Hospice and Palliative Care of WNY
Peter E. Shields ’75, MD
Excelsior Orthopaedics
Lorna K. Fitzpatrick '90, MDPediatrics, State University of New York at Buffalo/Women and Children's Hospital of Buffalo
Sarah H. Spillman '02, DO
Primary Care of Western New York
Thomas J. Foels ’77, MD
Independent Health Association
Lynn M. Steinbrenner ’76, MD
Veterans Administration Medical Center
Peter Wm. Forgach, MD
Office of Peter Wm. Forgach, MD
Jeffrey P. Steinig ’84, MD, FACS
Southtowns Surgical Associates
Andrew P. Giacobbe '82, MDWestern New York Plastic Surgery
Keith C. Stube, MD
Knee Center of Western New York
Karen F. Giardino ’81, MD
Meadowlands Endocrinology
Mary Turkiewicz ’80, MD
Southtowns Radiology Associates, LLC
Nicole M. Gothgen '00, MD
Great Lakes Anesthesia Associates, PC
Jean Wactawski-Wende ’81, PhD
Dept. of Social & Preventive Medicine;
School of Public Health & Health Professions; School of Medicine & Biomedical Sciences; Vice Provost for Strategic Initiatives; State University of New York at Buffalo
Steven P. Herman '79, MD
Stephen P. Herman, MD Family Practice
Anthony J. Winkowski, MD
Abbott Anesthesiologist Associates
  Paul B. Wirth ’84, MD
Buffalo Medical Group PC, Dept. of Dermatology

The Health Science Advisory and Recommendation Committee (HSARC) 

  • Susan M. Aronica, PhD, associate professor of biology
  • Richard H. Escobales Jr., PhD, professor of mathematics
  • Terry Mangione, PhD, dean of student affairs
  • James C. Lauffenburger, PhD, professor of physics
  • Mary C. O'Sullivan, PhD, professor of organic chemistry
  • Susan K. Putnam, PhD, professor of psychology
  • Allyson D. Backtrom, PhD, director, pre-med/pre-health program; chair, HSARC
  • Cynthia M. Travers, program coordinator, pre-med/pre-health program;

Most members have taught and observed the candidates. Additional information is solicited from science and non-science faculty and committee members carefully examine the applicants’ permanent records in order to give as complete and as balanced a report as possible.

The Committee gives a detailed analysis of the factors which determine the category of recommendation offered for each of its candidates in its letters of recommendation. The categories used by HSARC are:

  • Exceptional
  • Very Highly Recommended
  • Highly Recommended
  • Recommended
  • Not Recommended

The recommendation categories, while relying heavily on scholastic achievement in the undergraduate program, also take into consideration factors which are somewhat more difficult to measure, such as motivation, academic potential, leadership qualities, social adjustment and general character make-up. The committee offers favorable recommendations only for those candidates deemed academically and emotionally capable of succeeding in a health science professional school and ultimately being a credit to their chosen profession.

The recommendation category assigned a given applicant represents the best collective judgment of the committee. For many years, comparisons have been made of the outcomes of our health profession alumni with their recommendations upon leaving Canisius. As a result of these studies, the category, "Exceptional" is reserved for the student from whom we expect an exceptional performance in professional school. On the other hand, the category, "Recommended" means that the candidate is compared with other students from Canisius who have succeeded in graduating from professional school, but in some cases, with irregular progress.