All-College Honors: Awards


Robert J. Butler Award for Leadership

Awarded to the student(s) who has made particularly significant contributions to the All-College Honors Program.

Dr. Robert J. Butler, a Professor of English, served for twenty-one years as director of the Canisius All-College Honors Program (1985-2006). During that pivotal period, he increased the size of the student body, raised admissions standards, and expanded the opportunities for cultural enrichment. He is a native of Pittsfield, Massachusetts, and completed his formal education at St. Michael’s College and the University of Notre Dame. He is the author or coauthor of seven books on African American literature, and is an internationally known authority on the subject. A Kenneth L. Koessler Distinguished Professor, Butler is also renowned for his dedication to teaching, his unflagging commitment to a more just society, and his passions for bicycling and the Boston Red Sox baseball team.

2016 Winner: Elizabeth Piotrowski

Kristin M. Brady Award for Excellence in All-College Honors Thesis

Awarded to the student who has written the best thesis that year.

Kristin M. Brady graduated from Canisius College summa cum laude in 1970 as an English major and a member of the All-College Honors Program. She then served as a teacher in AmeriCorps and subsequently earned a Ph.D. in English from the University of Toronto. She taught in the English department at the University of Western Ontario, becoming a distinguished professor who won teaching awards and published widely on 19th century English literature. Her book on novelist Thomas Hardy is regarded as a landmark study. While on sabbatical in France in 1998, she died tragically in an automobile crash. Kristin Brady represented the highest ideals at Jesuit education—intellectual excellence and service to others.

2016 Winners: Nicole Kuhn, Elliott Louisos, Charles Ritzler

John J. Hurley Award

Awarded to the All-College Honors student graduating in the spring semester who best exemplifies the Jesuit values of academic excellence, leadership, and the promotion of justice. The award is named for the Canisius College president who was an outstanding All-College Honors student (Class of 1978) at Canisius and, since then, has exemplified the spirit of magis as a community leader, generous benefactor, and a tireless advocate of social justice. In years when there is a deserving candidate, the Hurley award winner will receive $500 and a plaque.

2016 Winner: Elizabeth Piotrowski

Honors Professor of the Year

Awarded to the professor (past or present) who has made exceptional contributions to the Honors Program in teaching, scholarship, and/or service. Winners are ineligible for a second award.

2016 Winner: Kate Dierenfield, PhD.

Amy Betros Community Service Award

In the Jesuit spirit of “men & women for and with others,” this award is named for Amy Betros, who co-founded and co-directs St. Luke’s Mission of Mercy on the East Side of Buffalo, as it provides food, clothing, shelter, and tutoring for those in need. The Honors Program will make a cash donation to a local charity in the name of student awardees.