New Class Inducted to Sports Hall of Fame

July 10, 2017


Buffalo, NY - Canisius proudly hosted the annual Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony on February 26.  The formal recognition of the Sports Hall of Fame class took place during halftime of the final home game of the men’s basketball season, against Saint Peter’s University. 

This year’s Sports Hall of Fame inductees are (l-r): Andrea (Bunten) Skyes ’05, softball; Kevin Downey ’05, MBA ’07, men’s basketball; Bryan Worosz ’05, hockey; and Becky Zak ’06, women’s basketball.  Additionally, Canisius inducted the 1962-63 men’s basketball team into the Sports Hall of Fame.  The 1963 Griffs team went 19-7 overall and advanced to the NIT final in Madison Square Garden, where the team lost to eventual champion Providence.  James Lauffenburger ’60, PhD, received the Rev. Paul J. Dugan, SJ, Award, which recognizes individuals for their significant contributions to Canisius athletics. 

The Canisius Sports Hall of Fame, which began in 1963, now boasts 192 individual members and five teams. 


Click here to read more about this year’s Sports Hall of Fame inductees.